PDA

View Full Version : Evaporator half frosted

buttonmonn
28-05-2012, 08:34 PM
Hello guys

I am new to this forum and fairly new to refrigeration so bear with me.

I am an electrician by trade, but I do repair white goods from time to time.
I was asked to have a look at a commercial, display fridge which wasn't cooling.
I did the obvious checks
Power on yes
Thermostat setting was set too high so I turned it 5 degrees celsius
I felt the compressor and it was hot and came on when I turned the thermostat down
Door seals were in good condition
There was no issue with light staying on
The condensor fan was working but the cooling fins were covered in grease and dust and so I gave them a clean.
There is no freezer, no evaporator fan and no frost free system.

I came back the next day to see if cleaning the condensor fins had made any difference and found that the thermometer was showing 10 degrees.
I also noticed that evaporator was only frosted half way along and not particularly cold at the far end. I told them to give the condensor fins a really good clean but that I suspect a lack of pressure in the sealed system; either caused by a problem with the compressor/capacitor, a lack of refrigerant (leak) or a partial blockage in the filter.

Can anyone tell me if I am right and where do I go from here?

Many thanks

Buttonmoon

r.bartlett
28-05-2012, 09:16 PM
are you f-gas qualified to work on these systems

cold.man
28-05-2012, 09:18 PM
what gas type is it?
what are the pressures? HP and LP
what does the condensor coil feel like inlet and outlet?
what does the drier feel like?
its sound like a small commercial fridge you may have to fit a line tap valve...:)

r.bartlett
28-05-2012, 10:00 PM
what gas type is it?
what are the pressures? HP and LP
what does the condensor coil feel like inlet and outlet?
what does the drier feel like?
its sound like a small commercial fridge you may have to fit a line tap valve...:)