PDA

View Full Version : Bitzer AC compressor tripping on LO diff.

maxx21
17-05-2012, 03:07 PM
hi guys, im new here so im not sure if i should post my question as a comment on on of the threads or post a new thread. but anywasy, im a marine engineer, not a refrigeration engineer. im in an offshore vessel here in abu dhabi. well, few hours ago, we had a problem with our AC compressor. it keeps on tripping on LO differential pressure. it seems that the LO suction pressure pressure is going down. the oil level on the sight glass is a bit more than half full. the C/E told me that the compressor was overhauled few months ago on drydock and ever since the compressor would from time to time trip on oil diff. the gauge on LP side shows 5bars and the HP side shows 8bars but the mark says it suppose to be 8.5 bars. i fiddled with the pressure differential switch and adjusted it to 3.3bars. now it seems to be ok. but the my question is why did this happen? whats the cause? im not that familiar with refrigeration by the way. so any help is greatly appriciated. thanks.

sedgy
17-05-2012, 03:51 PM
hi max , the unit is eather tripping out on the L/P switch or the oil pressure diff switch,
if we knew what gas it was on , and the desiered temp of the air coned room we might have a chance of getting a result, and I take it the unit is water cooled ? mregards sedgy ,

aramis
17-05-2012, 04:31 PM
I suppose your compressor is leveled and a semi hermetic.

One unusual but hard to diagnose problem occurs if the crankcase is pressurized over suction pressure while the compressor is on.

This will prevent oil getting in from the motor to the crankcase until the oil differential trips.

In that moment all the oil logged in the motor side will flow into the crankcase and you see a normal level, but moments ago there wasn’t enough oil and the oil differential is saving your compressor.