PDA

View Full Version : offset head pressure on transducer

aircon1
14-02-2012, 08:53 PM
Hi, i need some help. i've recently started to work on chillers. My background is vrf systems so this kit is alien to me. i'm ok with it except i have come across hp offsets, on a carel controller which is on a multiclima chiller, can someone explain this to me as i need to set up a new transducer. does offsets mean i have to tell the transducer what my hp reading on my analogue gauge is? e.g. if my gauge reads 19bar and the controller reads 17.8bar does this mean i have to enter an offset of +1.2bar?

any info would be appreciated .
thanks guys.

frank
14-02-2012, 09:03 PM
It will all depend on your gauges being calibrated or not.

When was the last time they were calibrated?

In other words......is the pressure transducer reading the correct pressure or your gauges - how do you decide?

aircon1
14-02-2012, 09:34 PM
hi frank, there are built in gauges on the chiller itself that read exactly the same as my manifold so i think they're ok. they are 3 years old and have never been calibrated. i have new ones coming soon. i hope they will be spot on.
was i thinking along the right lines then frank?

RONB
15-02-2012, 01:12 PM
On some controllers you have to put the full range of the xducer e.g if it is an absoloute xducer you would put a minimum press at -14.7 and lets say it was a hp xducer with a max pressure of say 300 psi you would set the max range to 300 so the controller knows what range it has to work to. Then you may have an offset parameter to calibrate the xducer input as well which as you say can be set up via your manifold.

Tayters
15-02-2012, 06:04 PM