PDA

View Full Version : What's Changed?

grommit
29-01-2012, 09:56 PM
A confession - I blagged my way in - I'm not in the refrigeration profession, I'm a retired engineering instructor, but the only way I reckon I'm going to get an answer to my questions is to ask the pro's.
For the past 16-odd years we've had a Frigidaire chest freezer in our garage In Winter the temperature in the garage often falls below 0C. The freezer has given faultless service over the years, but at the ripe old age of 16 I'm sure it must be due to give out soon and we're looking to replace it.
Looking at the specs for current models I see a term that's new to me - "climate class" (quick read up about climate class) - and every freezer I look at its climate class rating is SN, limiting its ambient temperature working range to between 10 and 35C, so not suitable for use in my garage. In the past the guy at my local electrical store has given us a lot of sound advice on electrical appliances so I asked him to clarify the situation. He said this restriction applies mainly to fridge-freezers and generally not to chest freezers or certain upright freezer models such as Blomberg and Beko, which can operate down to -15C ambient. But then when he looked at the spec for a Hotpoint chest freezer he had on display - there it was - climate class SN (quick back-pedal). The brochure for the Blomberg upright model he'd shown us said the same. So my questions: