PDA

View Full Version : Entropy

lana
28-10-2005, 07:34 AM
Can enyone explain in a very simple manner what is the Entropy? I know the thermodynamic definition of it.
Cheers.:)

US Iceman
28-10-2005, 02:29 PM
This is a question that always generates more questions.

Try these websites:

http://www.2ndlaw.com/

or,

http://www.entropylaw.com/

These links have a lot of information and explanations that can hopefully explain this for you.

Regards,

dogma
29-10-2005, 01:49 PM
Quick question...R U in the trade?

Entropy is found on the Enthalpy chart which is the fundamental of design and fault finding in the refig industry.

Unfortunately I don't fully understand entropy myself only that it is a measure of energy and work done in the commpressor.

Don't quote me though. Google PH charts or pressure enthalpy charts.

Some one tell me if I'm wrong I'm only a 1st yr apprentice.

rbartlett
29-10-2005, 06:37 PM
Entropy entropy -they've all got it entropy !! ;-))

cheers

richard

botrous
29-10-2005, 10:15 PM
Entropy entropy -they've all got it entropy !!

Hi Richard , seems that you are very familial with the entropy concept , can you define it for us ?

Regards

botrous
29-10-2005, 10:17 PM
Lana this might be useful to :
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Entropy
http://physics.about.com/cs/thermodynamics/g/Entropy.htm

dogma
30-10-2005, 11:25 AM
Entropy. 'measure of the "unavailability" of a systems thermal energy for conversion into mechanical work.'

Adiabatic Process.

Compression is adiabatic when there is no heat transfer to the cylinder wall, or from the cylinder walls during compression, so that an amount of energy equal to the work done on the vapour is set up in the vapour as internal energy, and vapour temp increases accordingly.

Australian refrigeration and air conditioning '4th ed'
West 1 services."graham boyle" 2004

This is assumed for plotting Ph charts.

Erik Detroit
30-10-2005, 03:27 PM