PDA

View Full Version : General Dehumidifer Question

nickthesafe
31-12-2011, 04:45 PM
Hi folks, newbie here so be gentle, please.

Since i didn't want to trash a perfectly good refrigeration dehumidifer due to the defrost control board being fried and no replacement available, I've installed a programmable commercial defrost controller and need a little help with optimum setup parameters;

It's a small but very useful amcor TC120 which has an NTC probe mounted in the air stream immediately before the evaporator so it actually senses incoming air temp and not evap temp, as far as I can make out, this is only useful when the ambient temp is too low for the unit to function, I need to input this temp and expect it to be around 4degrees c or so..

Next up is the ON and OFF time for the compressor, I've got her running for 20 minutes followed by a 255 second defrost time which is pulling water quite well but if it can be better then I would love to hear.

Many Thanks.
Nick

Magoo
31-12-2011, 09:47 PM
Run the compressor longer continuously and monitor any ice formation on evaporator, lift the setting for air on controller, that should protect possibility of ice formation.

Magoo
31-12-2011, 11:12 PM
The condensate tank will have a cut out sensor controlled from the redundent PCB. Sort that into the new controller somehow, otherwize water spillage will happen for sure.

nickthesafe
01-01-2012, 11:27 AM
Thanks for the replies...

The tank cut off is seperate and cuts power to the controller which is ok i've set up a one minute pause on power up to keep the comp from having a fit... As for Ice formation, well that begins within just a couple of minutes but i am loathed to cycle the compressor that often...Kinda homing in on around 15 minutes on and four minutes off, getting some ice build up followed by a quick defrost and a healthy run off into the tank. If it's OK to cycle the comp more quickly, I'll do that instead....what do you think?

Nick

install monkey