PDA

View Full Version : Replacement options for paragon 8145-20

duckgunner83
23-12-2011, 07:37 PM
I am a production manager for a packaged ice company in bend oregon. I did a short experiment with one of my walk in freezers the other day when the outside ambient temperature ranged from 21 degrees F to about 48 degrees F. In the winter time there is very limited product and or usage load to these freezers and i feel that these freezers run much more than they need to with the use of our current paragon timers. The freezer that i tested started out in the morning at about fifteen degrees and over the course of six hours it only rose to 22 degrees. What i would like to find is a timer similar to the 8145-20 that allows me to program extended off times, as well as possibly some input options such as internal temp cancellation of off time and external temp cancellation of runtime. i saw that paragon had some newer digital timers availible anyone have any thoughts or experience with what i am trying to achieve?

install monkey
23-12-2011, 07:53 PM
surely the freezer operates on a thermostat ,so in low ambients it wont run as much, the paragon timer is to regulate the frequency of defrosts,either lower the setpoint of the stat or decrease the ammounts of defrosts in 24hrs if adjustable, otherwise fit a digital stat to give you full control of defrost frequency,duration and termination temp,
8145 defrost cycle works like this:
Time initiated, pressure or temperature terminated
Timer is running and relay is OFF. Dial rotates continually.
Terminal 4 has power: Refrigeration compressor/fan is ON.
Trippers on dial switch relay ON, defrost cycle begins.
Terminal 4 has no power. Refrigeration compressor/fan turns OFF.
Terminal 3 has power: Hot gas/ electric heat defrost turns ON.
Temperature-or-pressure switch connects to terminals N - X