PDA

View Full Version : Best advice to further my career.

trenttaylor89
04-12-2011, 01:46 PM
Hi guys,

I am a refrigeration engineer and have been for the past 6 years now. I have worked mainly on air conditioning products from commercial to industrial. I am currently working at a very famous art gallery in London which is great for experience.

I am at a crossroads as i am very eager to study and further my career within the field. Things like enjoyment of work, wages and sustainability all come into play.

I know of a few ways to branch out Ie sales, BMS (controls), management or start my own company but would love to hear from some people who are in these rolls what it entails and why they enjoy it. I am currently leaning toward sales but am in some desperate need of advice. Thanks guys!

install monkey
04-12-2011, 02:00 PM
buy a canvass and get painting!haha

trenttaylor89
04-12-2011, 03:41 PM
thanks, very helpfull

stufus
04-12-2011, 04:32 PM
It say's in your profile "age-22"
Yet you say you've been refrigeration engineer for six years...
What age did you start??
Assuming an apprenticeship in the UK is 4 years ,that would make you 2 years out of your time .
I appreciate your eagerness and desire to go further but at two years out of your time I personally think you may be jumping the gun a little.
To be a "good" sale's person a good knowledge of the product's you are selling is often confused with an excellent understanding of the fundamental's of that product and it's limitations.:confused:
A prime example is "sale's" people pushing splits for comm's and server room's ,presuming if it provides cooling it will do the job.
Maybe you should consider diversifying and try your hand at the refrigeration side of the trade and don't assume it's all the same.
Either way best of look ,hope it all works out for you. :cool:BUT....