PDA

View Full Version : High side float valve and night-time operation

laudrup
01-12-2011, 10:26 AM
Hi,

I am doing some work looking at using more night-time cooling at an industrial facility (refrigeration plant cools a brine solution which is then passed through some tank jackets to cool tanks). The idea is to use cheaper off-peak power and also to take advantage of increased refigeration efficiency at the lower ambient temperatures. The system has an evaporative condenser and refrigerant control is by a high side float.

I am relatively new to this and I wanted to verify that with this high side float control, I would get lower discharge pressures as the ambient temperature decreased and hence improved refrigeration plant efficiency.

Thanks for your help. I appreciate it.

Cheers

RANGER1
01-12-2011, 11:03 AM
Hi laudrup,
From your description the" high side float" usually is for a critically charged system& is connected to main high pressure liquid reciever.
What condenses & is held in liquid reciever gets dumped straight into lowside of plant ie surge drum,accumulator etc.
It only passes liquid, not gas if it is operating correctly.
I can't see it has any bearing on lower condensing pressures, as it only a level control device.

For efficiency discharge pressure should be as low as possible, but float control has to be big enough to pass enough liquid under lower differential pressures.

Can you also describe the layout of your plant a bit more, as well as brine temps.
Do you have plate heat exchangers, surge drums etc etc

laudrup
01-12-2011, 11:17 AM
Hi Ranger1,

The brine is at about -7 deg C.

The evaporator is a plate heat exchanger with a horizontal surge vessel/accumulator on top of it.

The high side float is a model HT200MN.

The compressor is a Hasegawa VML3A (reciprocating I think).

The refrigerant is ammonia.