PDA

View Full Version : how to determine gas enough for free standing chiller

otto2008
11-11-2011, 11:21 AM
Hi I am a heat pump installer, but I have a chance to repair the free standing chiller, the volume is around 1 cubic meter and use R22 gas,the client require the temperature at +4 degree celius.
The client said the chiller is not cold enough. When the compressor is running, the gas pipe is hot, but the liquid pipe only warm, so I connect the gauge and it show 0 psi while the compressor stop, so I charge the gas just a little only may be 20g, but the gauge suddenly show to 50psi, and start the cooling process, just in ten minutes the chiller from +15 degree celius drop to +11 degress celius then keep at that point around an hour.
So is anybody can told me what is wrong, at that time the gauge show the low pressure is 30psi.

the next question how can I determine the gas is enough or not?
somebody told me that if your setting temperaure is +4degree celius, so check your low pressure side and adjust it to -6 degree c and around 21 psi that the temperaure inside the chiller should be okay. but other people said by experience, if you can see the frost just at the suction of the compressor, that is enough, if that is a lot of frost that should be too much. so is anybody can tell me how I can charge sufficent gas, thanks.
Regards
Otto

Grizzly
11-11-2011, 11:47 AM
Otto.
You need around 6 degrees of sub cooling.
By saying Heat pump installer, what is your actual trade?
Chillers are totally different and if you don't really know what you are doing.
Walk away before you create serious damage to the chiller. Would the customer you are doing this work for hold you responsible for any damage.
System pressure is just one of the parameters used to determine correct operation.

As we say you at this stage "May of bitten off more than you can chew".
By the way where's the leak?
Grizzly

MikeHolm
11-11-2011, 12:54 PM
You may also have had a sticky gauge

AlexG