PDA

View Full Version : Reliability Ensurance Checklist

Kompulsa
02-11-2011, 12:43 PM
Hello.

Since I am still learning, and I got a 12,000 BTU rotary hermetic A/C compressor.

I just want to tell you what I have learnt about what not to do to the compressor to extend it's life as much as possible so that you can tell me if I forgot anything important. I really cannot afford to damage this one too quickly. There is the possibility that I forgot some things. Another reason for posting this is that other new people will see this thread and learn from not only the safety tips here but your criticism and additions as well.

1. Do not operate compressor without refrigerant as it will overheat due to the fact that the motor is refrigerant cooled.

1a. Don't allow condenser to overheat because the refrigerant has to stay cool to keep the compressor cool, because the condenser also acts as a form of radiator.

2. Evacuate thoroughly/Don't operate unit with air inside as that may cause pressure and/or temperature to increase too much (I don't remember the exact warning).

3. Don't mix refrigerants due to the risk of creating a flammable product.

4. Don't allow dust nor any form of debris to get into the compressor.

5. No moisture is to enter the compressor because that will accelerate corrosion.

6. Don't leave any part of the compressor without paint, if paint scratches off, paint it to prevent corrosion.

7. Operate compressor at least occasionally to preventing it from seizing up.

8. Don't operate compressor with an over sized nor undersized start/running capacitor. If it is undersized, it may fail to start and the motor could overheat (could someone confirm this?). If it is oversized, the motor could overheat. < I need to confirm that too.