PDA

View Full Version : Mini Split System prolems

DanDMan
22-08-2011, 11:02 PM
I have installed A/C systems for over 20 years, but I have never worked with mini splits before and I'm a bit at a loss on my first system. I bought one for my home to see how they work before I start selling them. It worked great for a few weeks then we had a tree fall on the power line and after a extended brown out the unit seems to longer to be able to cool.

The air temp from the evaporator is 47, yet this 12,000 btu unit will not cool 448 square feet more than 3 to 5 degrees below outside temp. I have no idea how to check the inverter technology. The local ac supply house does not even sell tools. The unit is a shinco and it has no error codes and has no test button on the board. Just in case the flares leaked I recovered the unit and weighed in a fresh charge. No dice, still does not work.

I would appreciate any thought you gents might have on how to trouble shoot this!

install monkey
22-08-2011, 11:09 PM
you say a tree fell on the power supply to the condenser,is the indoor unit powered off the outdoor on a 4 core cable,
is the interconnecting cable damaged , internal glass fuses on the pcb's

DanDMan
22-08-2011, 11:14 PM
The tree fell on the main lines to the house. The 4 wire cable between the outside and inside is good.

install monkey
22-08-2011, 11:20 PM
could the oudoor board have been zapped(sending a live up the neutral? does the indoor fan run and are u getting a cooling signal from the indoor unit and is the outdoor recieving this? if so then the fault will lie in the outdoor unit.

monkey spanners
22-08-2011, 11:22 PM
I'd be looking at refrigerant charge, but you've checked that.
Air flow, coils/fliter nice and clean?
Fan blades/blower wheel clean? Have seen indoor fan wheels full of mold before.
Is it actually big enough to due the duty with the ambient conditions, temp humidity etc?