PDA

View Full Version : water chiller split from Auto Air system.

temperacerguy
07-07-2011, 05:12 AM
I have an idea in mind, and I am hoping I can get some technical advice/assistance in the design, implimentation of the design.

My background is in mechanical engineering, however I am working in healthcare. I can build damn near anything out of wood/metal/composites, but I am ignorant when it comes to auto airconditioning.

I currently own an 1991 ST185 Toyota Celica Alltrac/GT4 which is a 4 wheel drive turbocharged vehicle. It has an air/water intercooler which uses a recirculating coolant to cool the intake charge for better performance.

It's an old drag racing trick to fill the intercooler resevoir with an ice water mixture, to supercool the intake charge air. However once the ice melts, then the best you can do is get ambient temperature in the water circulating through the intercooler.

Now that you know the background, here's my idea...

I would like to install an evaporator (with aluminum tube/fin design, or some type of coil design) in the resevoir tank to constantly cool the intercooler coolant, during the 90% of the time I am off boost so that I have 3 gallons of super-cooled coolant to run through my intercooler when I am on boost.

I would like to "T" off of the high side line to run to this evaporator in the "coolant chiller", and to T-back into the low side after the factory equiped evaporator...

The vehicle is running R-12 refrigerant (and I have access to R-12). The factory evaporator has a block style expansion valve.

Now, here are my questions:
Is this even possible?
Will I need a larger compressor? (I can make brackets to bolt nearly any compressor to the engine block)
Will I need a larger condensor?
What type of evaporator and expansion valve should I use in this "coolant chiller"?

As I said, my fabrication skills are pretty high up there, so as long as something is physically able to fit, I can make it work.