PDA

View Full Version : COP of an industrial chiller? Help!

Anon13
23-06-2011, 05:21 PM
Hello,

I am a novice in refrigeration. It is something I have studied quite less, only the most basic of starting concepts. My course doesn't go into deep until late this year. But I am currently doing my summer industrial training and my project includes calculating the COP of the chiller unit functional there.

My basic doubt is that which of the following two approaches should I adopt to find the COP-

1. I know the discharge and suction pressures. So should I make a p-h graph for these pressures and write the steady state flow equations and calculate Q/W?

OR

2. Should I measure the heat removed from water through specifications of the PHE package and also measure the work input of compressors in KW and divide the two quantities?

I request you all to PLEASE help me out, I will be very grateful. And forgive me any stupid questions I might have unknowingly asked or would ask.

Tradewinds
24-06-2011, 03:32 AM
Go for 1. Plot it on a pH graph.

COPr = Refrigeration Effect / Work Done by compressor

Peter_1
24-06-2011, 06:27 AM
2. is the good answer.

Tesla
24-06-2011, 08:07 AM
Yes Peter is correct 2. is the only answer for chiller COP.
1. would only give the compressor COP. Then there is the system COP - which measures the whole system including all fans and pumps. Your answers will vary under different loads and with different types of compressors eg. the Turbocor chiller performs very well under low ambient conditions where most other compressors with oil require an elevated condensing temp for oil return.

Tradewinds
26-06-2011, 08:35 AM
Hi Anon,
I found these on the net and thought you might find it helpful for your project

http://emt-india.com/BEE-Exam/GuideBooks/4Ch9.pdf - Have a look at chapter 9.5 onwards. Also, if you go to http://emt-india.com/BEE-Exam/GuideBooks (http://emt-india.com/BEE-Exam/GuideBooks/4Ch9.pdf) you can download all the chapters