PDA

View Full Version : vent on carrier 5h60??????????????

klobber
12-06-2011, 02:08 PM
Hi Folks,

I am working on a carrier 5h60 compressor, having pressure tested it I have noticed that the housing where the capacity control valve is situated has what seems to be a vent???(pneumatic control connection port)... I know this from looking at the other one which is next to it, the one I am working on does not have the vent?-peice just a bolt which someone has put in its place..... I have limited knowledge on this however know it should not be blocked.... does this make any fridging sense to anybody?? will it run if its blocked.... any feedback would be great, waiting on literature getting sent out.....

Argus
12-06-2011, 02:45 PM

If it's a hexagonal nut, with a domed top shaped like a bowler hat, then it's the cover for the unloader adjustment stem.

Additionallly, there are outlets for the external oil hydraulic control connections on the rim of the oil pump assembly, but these are normally plugged off if not used.

If not these .... a photo of what you are looking at may help.

Hope it helps.

PS - the full service manuals of these compressors are available on the Carrier / Carlyle international web site.
Google on.

klobber
12-06-2011, 03:08 PM
Hey argus,

Yeah its not the unloader adjustment stem cover, its above that, got the drawing online, its the pneumatic control connection which seems to be missing... causing a clear opening into the housing...hard to explain...someone has put a bolt in where it should be.. cant get a permit to use a camera where I am at present.....

thanks

Argus
12-06-2011, 11:04 PM

It's nearly 30 years since I took one of those apart, but I recall that there were a couple of external connections for the optional electric un-loaders and (I may be wrong) a connection for an oil pump pressure gauge on the side of the oil pump housing.