PDA

View Full Version : Flow rate through low loss header

TiredGeek
26-04-2011, 04:14 PM
OK, for various reasons I have fitted a low loss header into the system to help with flow through my 2 x 14kw Mitsubishi EcoDan ASHP.

The header is a 42mm pipe with 28mm pipes in and out (4 each side) and there are two water pumps drawing from it and feeding the ecodans (1 to each) on the return side. The radiator side of the header has 4 water pumps, 2 on flow and 2 on return. All the pumps are the same spec: Grundfos 15/60 240vac. The two feeding the Ecodans are set to fixed full speed, the rad side are on variable speed 2.

The thing is, I'm only getting an indicated flow of 25L/min on the flow setters that are in the ASHP side of the circuit. The reason this header was added was to increase the flow of water through the ASHP, but it's pretty much the same as before it was fitted when the water was just coming back from the rad circuit.

I'm no expert but I thought I'd be seeing much higher flow rates through the header than this as there is now no restriction from the rads.

What do you guys think?

Brian_UK
26-04-2011, 11:51 PM
So the ASHP pumps are also 15/60's ?

What is the resistance through the circuit and how does that fall on the pump curve?
http://www.plumbnation.co.uk/site/grundfos-ups-15-50-selectric-130-bare-pump/Grundfos%20UPS%20Selectric%20Pumps%20Brochure.pdf

mad fridgie
27-04-2011, 12:28 AM
Your low less header is to give you a consistent flow to your heat pumps, regardless of the flow through the radiators. If your indicators are those little red things in a tube, then a little change in indication can actually mean a big change in actual flow (my opinion only) I do not find them to be that great.
Is the system working well?

MikeHolm
27-04-2011, 12:42 AM