PDA

View Full Version : A little help please

Mayfair
13-04-2011, 08:52 PM
Hi Guys
Please be kind to me :o I am an electrician of 30 years experience working in Spain and of late have been working a lot for a big letting agency and they are forever at me about AC mostly small units but they keep asking if i can give the units a pre summer look at clean and top up,???????????????? As i said be kind I have fitted AC units in the past about 5 to be exact Qs are Do they really need topping up each year I can easily clean the filters etc just a bit confused as to why a so called sealed system should need as they put it topping up. I have a vac pump and manifold set but really unsure about this ........As i said play nice
Thanks

monkey spanners
13-04-2011, 09:09 PM
Imagine they had asked you to check the apartments and replace all the fuses that keep blowing...

As a sparks you know they don't blow with out a reason, well its the same with refrigerant, if the system had the correct charge to start with, and is now undercharged, it has a leak which needs finding and fixing. They do not require, and it is in fact illeagal to do so, 'top ups'.

You will need a recovery machine and cylinder, leak detector, nitrogen and regulator, weigh scales, vac pump, gauges, various other tools, both general and trade specific to go about locating and repairing a leaky system.
The other equally if not more important thing you need is an up to date F gas refrigerant handling certificate to be working on such systems, both you and the people who contracted you would be liable for prosecution for non compliance. Just google f gas regulations to see what you would be getting yourself into!

Jon :)

Mayfair
13-04-2011, 09:21 PM