PDA

View Full Version : Daikin vrv3 "super inverter" fault.

mupdook1
09-04-2011, 08:51 PM
hi guys, this is my first post on here although i have been a keen reader for some time now. i am fairly new to the wonderful world of A/C so i hope you'll go easy on me. anyway here goes:- at one of the sites i look after we have a Daikin VRV3 REYQ14P8Y1B Super Inverter which supplies 9 indoor fan-coils. each indoor unit has its own controller and there is also a controller in the plant room showing all the units. upon startup the outdoor unit fans start,the unit goes through its internal checks, the inverter compressors start to ramp up then shutdown. this cycle happens 3 times then the unit shuts down. when accessing the TEST button on the indoor controllers, the last fault code is E5 which is "overload of inverter compressor". i have checked the amperage of both compressors and (although each measurement slightly varies each time), the current at each phase can reach as high as 39 Amps. is this too high?? The compressors do not sound particularly noisy, i have "meggered" the compressors' windings and found readings of @ 350 megohms and 100megohms (to earth) respectively, so maybe the insulation is starting to break down. i had 10BAR standing pressure (410a) so i know theres a reasonable charge in there. any help would be greatly appreciated before i think about changing compressors or inverter boards......:cool:

moondawn
09-04-2011, 09:09 PM
Hi there i thought that you could never tell how much refrigerant is inside a system be it small amount medium amount or large amount just going off standing charge, all standing charge can tell you is which refrigerant it is when comparing with a refrigerant compareter? Please can others confirm and the reason why as we all learning here.??

If you require service manual for this unit i have it and can email you. pm me your email address?

cheers lee

mupdook1
09-04-2011, 09:18 PM