PDA

View Full Version : Sharp AY A189J fault code

Bumole
13-03-2011, 09:28 AM
Hello

I have been lurking here for a while trying to learn as much as I can before I make my first post. I am an electrician with a split system refrigeration ticket. I don't have much experience as I have only installed 3 units in my own home.

A mate called me yesterday with a problem with his Sharp split system AY A189J. When he turns it on the louvers drop down and the yellow Timer LED flashes on for 1 sec and off for 1 sec repeatedly without the fan working. I have not seen the unit first hand as he lives some distance from me.

I have trawled this site and the net for some info but all I could find was the operation manual, which was not much help. If anyone is familiar with these units or can help me out with the fault code your assistance would be appreciated, so I can advise him on repair or replacement.

Thanks in advance

Justin.

Brian_UK
13-03-2011, 10:48 PM
Sorry, can't find much either, previous post on here...
http://www.refrigeration-engineer.com/forums/showthread.php?17130-sharp-AY-A189J-error-codes

paul_h
14-03-2011, 10:05 AM
Timer flashing just means fault, it flashes 5 times, stops for 4 sec then flashes 5x again.
As in the other thread, you need the op light to flash to tell you the fault. If it isn't flashing, hold down the man/aux button on the indoor for 5sec to get the op light flashing to get the fault code
You need to know on which timer flash the op light flashes, 1st, 2nd, 3, 4,and 5th count of the timer flash, ie could be 1st and 5th marks of the timer flash cycle.

a/c.king
14-03-2011, 10:35 AM
hi
if u open the outdoor uit top cover u most likly u will see a PCB cove by removing PCB cover u will see the fult code printed on the cover and by loking at OUTDOOR PCB u will find led flashing or doing somthing. interpreted andcompare them with what is printed on the PCB cover.