PDA

View Full Version : Question about a refrigeration system issue

dannyzeiss
03-03-2011, 10:32 PM
Hi Guys,

I'm new to refrigeration, and in fact haven't been trained in repairing refrigerators. However, I am required to work on systems that require a refrigeration system.

For example, I work on instruments in pathology labs, known as "Cryostats". They may be called something else where you are from, but essentially, they are used to precisely slice very thin (4-10 microms) of an autopsy in temperatures of around -20 degrees celcius.

Now, the cryostat that I am working on, has its refrigeration in the back part of the instrument. The current problem with the instrument is that every now and again, there is a clanging sound, kind of like a "jack hammer" sound that occurs, and at first I thought it could be the main contactor that turns on the compressor, however, I don't think it is, because the contacts of the contactor seem fine and are not corroded.

The refrigeration system has two solinoid switches that open and close the gas valves and because the system is atleast 12 years old, I think it could be these that are causing the problem.

However, I really need some advice. Do any of you guys know which of the following would be the most likely cause of this situation:

-Solinoid switch controlling the gas valves
-Main contactor which controls the compressor
-Compressor
-PCB board (called the triac board) controlling the switching of the solinoids and contactor

I can repair/replace the pcb board or the contactor, however, I cannot repair/replace solinoids or compressor, so if I know which are most likely for this "jack hammer" sound, then better prepare for the upcoming repair, rather then groping in the dark.

Let me know if you have any questions, as I would really appreciate any help with this situation.

Best regards,

DannyZeiss

Brian_UK
03-03-2011, 11:03 PM
Jack Hammer sounds like the contactor.