PDA

View Full Version : strange compressor issue?

alan_man
24-02-2011, 11:10 AM
Hi, I was asked to look at a friends small split system that has been installed on his caravan (much the same way as you would usually install a split, back to back). We're both unaware of its history as he bought the caravan with the system all ready installed. It is a strangely small Mistral running R22 (needs a small 590g). The issue is it has never blown cold air, only ambient temperature (since he has owned it). After a quick look I found that it seems the compressor would turn on for a few seconds then switch back off repeatedly. I felt the discharge line cool for a fraction so assumed there was some amount of charge in it. I hooked up my R22 gauges to see if I could get any decent static reading to work with and noticed no gas discharge and 0 PSI? I know the gauges work fine as I use them regularly. I have plenty of installation experience however know little when it comes to fault finding split systems which I would like to start learning. Could any one give me an idea what is happening here? Shraeder valve/compressor issue? Do most splits have a low pressure switch for the compressor? Thanks in advance

NoNickName
24-02-2011, 11:43 AM
If the discharge line is cool, it means there is no refrigerant in the unit, which is in agreement with zero psi.
The discharge line should be warm.

paul_h
24-02-2011, 12:23 PM
Sound like no refrigerant.
No, most splits don't have pressure controls, only bigger, ducted or better brand ones do, small chinese cheapies don't.
So if it's cutting out all the time, I'd guess current sensor error (most splits do check current draw and shut off the compressor if current too high*).
What goes wrong in a small cheap chinese non-inverter split system:
fan motor (indoor) sensor - shuts off if fan doesn't run or thinks it isn't running even if it is.
indoor thermistors - coil and air sensors.
compressor current sensor.