PDA

View Full Version : fridge operating pressures

jakehabing
17-02-2011, 03:34 AM
This is my first time repairing a domestic refrigerator. What should my operating pressures be?
I recovered and charged according to name plate. It runs at -10psig all the time and there is frost on the evap coil. It will freeze water in about 2 hour in the freezer and about a day in the fridge.

fridge and freezer are set to coldest, Gas is 134a.

Tesla
17-02-2011, 05:02 AM
Hi jake
I have not done many dom fridge freezers (only one but it worked) but my old boss did and he told me the method. Set stat at half way. Charge until there is a frost line on the suction pipe then release a little of the gas at a time (into a bottle) and wait patiently so as at the end of the cycle the frost line is about two inches inside the insulation at the bottom of the fridge. Then you may need to adjust the stat once you have a load in the fridge. This process took me a few days to get it right but it did work. There may be other methods which work better and no doubt an appliance tech would know better than me (imagine the bill for the customer if I fixed the gas leak) lol.:D
I can't remember the pressure but I know it was low.

mikeref
17-02-2011, 05:18 AM
Jake, Small refrigerant charge in domestics but if larger drier fitted then more R134a needed. Running a vacuum is not right, +1 to +2 psi at temperature is it.

spimps
17-02-2011, 05:34 PM
Agree with mikeref +2 psi on low back pressure comps.

Brian_UK
17-02-2011, 07:17 PM
What repairs did you do to the machine which required re-gassing?

jakehabing
18-02-2011, 02:19 AM
Brian,

The fridge was not keeping the food cold. So I leak checked it with nitrogen. Found no leak and it held 100psig for a day. Charged with 4.5oz using a digital postage scale.

I have been checking my amps on the compressor. 2 amp draw. Fridge says it runs at 7 amps.

mikeref
18-02-2011, 05:52 AM