PDA

View Full Version : Condensation Temperature?

Indy2010
30-01-2011, 03:51 AM
Forgive my noob question but

How can you determine the condensation temperature of a gas in a light commercial refrigeration condenser?

and is the saturation point effected by pressure?

marc5180
30-01-2011, 01:59 PM
Connect your gauges and use a PT comparator ( or measure the temperature of the middle passes of the condensor)

The saturation point varies with the pressure

marc5180
30-01-2011, 02:01 PM
Maybe have a read here;

http://www.refrigeration-engineer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=19701

Indy2010
30-01-2011, 06:51 PM
Thanks I have read the 101 thread and found it verg interesting and informative unfortunately I could not find an explanation to my above question. Remember I'm a noob here. Seems that the liquid line connection for the high side gauge will be influenced by subcooling to some degree.
Will a p/t chart indicate the saturation point from vapor to liquid based upon pressure? Is this point called the bubble point?

Indy2010
31-01-2011, 04:35 AM
Dupont has p/t charts that show bubble point for some gases yet not for others (I'm thinking they may be blends) is that a reason?

Also back to the bubble point. Is this the point at which a gas vapor shows the first sign of condensing ?

TRASH101
31-01-2011, 09:41 AM
Indy,

Bubble point = evaporation, boils, phase change from liquid to gas.

Dew point = Condensation, mists, phase change from gas to liquid.

marc5180
31-01-2011, 10:40 AM
Dupont has p/t charts that show bubble point for some gases yet not for others (I'm thinking they may be blends) is that a reason?

Also back to the bubble point. Is this the point at which a gas vapor shows the first sign of condensing ?

Hopefully this will help;

http://www2.dupont.com/Refrigerants/en_US/assets/downloads/h45938_Suva_temp_glide.pdf

Tayters
31-01-2011, 05:11 PM
Copied from this web page.

http://www.refrigerants.com/faq.htm#nine: