PDA

View Full Version : contaminants in ammonia systems

Johnny Rod
19-08-2005, 11:22 AM
I'm a relative newbie to the world of refrigeration so a little unsure where to look for some info. I'm trying to find out about ammonia, but the more people I talk to the more questions I seem to have!

What I'm looking for is information about the effects that contaminants in the refrigeration circuit have on ammonia systems. For CFC/HCFC/HFC systems there is info in the ASHRAE handbook about this e.g. moisture levels, but I'm having more than a little trouble finding similar information for ammonia. I know ammonia systems are a lot more tolerant than fluorocarbons but there must be some info out there somewhere - ?

Sabroeclaus
19-08-2005, 11:42 AM
Hi i have send you some info i hope can help you

botrous
19-08-2005, 03:34 PM
Sabroeclaus , why don't you post those info here , so all of us can discuss it and have a look at it , maybe it's useful for the others to

US Iceman
19-08-2005, 11:14 PM
Hi Johnny Rod,

You are correct about the water tolerance in ammonia. There are some limits though as to how much. I need to dig in my information for the exact numbers, but for a general discussion I will give you some basic info.

Refrigerant grade ammonia has a small percentage of water added to it for storage and transportation issues. This is due to the possiblility of pure ammonia causing corrosion stress cracking in carbon steel vessels. The water helps to reduce this effect.

Higher concentrations of water begin to change the pressure/temperature relationship. This is approaching the aqueous-ammonia solutions used in some absorbtion machines where ammonia is sometimes used.

Another contaminant to watch out for is CO2. This only applies when the ammonia system is being used on CO2 systems (breweries, or cascade CO2 refrigeration systems). CO2 and ammonia can form solids if the two mix. I think the solution is called ammonium carbonate. This is a mess.