PDA

View Full Version : Oil Carryover

jbmorris
12-01-2011, 09:58 AM
I am NOT a refrigeration expert and I only have a basic understanding of refrigeration operation, but I need some help in fixing a problem.

I work at a chemical plant in China which has a newly commissioned Frick 2-stage system which has 2 reliability issues: Moisture in the system and oil carryover from the Booster Compressor.

The system data:
- ***** R507 with Frick 13 oil
- Booster suction pressure (Vac) -.15barG (-4.43"mg)
- Booster Discharge Pressure 2.1 barG (30.87 psig) Booster oil supply temperature 50Deg C (122 Deg F)
- Booster Discharge Temperature 60 Deg C
- High Stage Suction Pressure 1.85 barG (26.83 psig)

The oil separator has a 3 stage demister/coalescer but I have not seen the drawings of these yet...only relying on what I was told by our Chinese process engineer.

I have a couple of concerns I'd like opinions on:
1. How easily does the ***** disengage from the oil?
- At 45 Deg C, Frick 13 has density of 938.9 kg/m3 and specific gravity of 0.939
- at 70 Deg C R507 has specific gravity of 1.07

2. would running a higher oil temperature help?

3. We are contemplating raising our Booster suction pressure to slightly positive. What effects will this have on oil carryover and system operation.
- Right now our chillers on Booster suction operate at about -55 Deg C
- Our chillers on High stage suction operate at -16 Deg C

4. Is dP across our coalescers too high? Is it possible our biggest issue is gas velocity?

I'd appreciate your expert help on this problem.

RANGER1
12-01-2011, 11:02 AM
tjbmorris

I am NOT a refrigeration expert and I only have a basic understanding of refrigeration operation, but I need some help in fixing a problem.

I work at a chemical plant in China which has a newly commissioned Frick 2-stage system which has 2 reliability issues: Moisture in the system and oil carryover from the Booster Compressor.

The system data:
- ***** R507 with Frick 13 oil