PDA

View Full Version : Lennox problem

MCollins2011
08-01-2011, 02:38 PM
Hi guys

I am not an engineer but a guy living in China with a problem, I hope you guys can help.

I have 3 Lennox units two 5 ton and one 4 ton heat pumps. (HP29 series)

The issue I have is technical support in China is non existent. All three units are not working 100% but one unit in particular is a problem. The ambient temperature outside is about 32F the unit is heating but not very well.

The engineer arrived and with the machine switched off connected a single gauge and valve with a blue hose and a yellow hose (left loose) to the service port of the outdoor unit and then told me there was no gas in the unit. (In anticipation of this I had purchased a twin gauge manifold and asked him to connect this to the relevant ports)。 This he did and we immediately had a reading on the low pressure gauge of 45psi and 68psi on the high pressure side. We switched the machine on and the reading settled at 22psi and 130psi. he said there was a shortage of gas and added ***** R22 to the system. The reading changed to 45psi and 250psi. The high gauge needle was vibrating a bit he said it was because some air had been left in the unit when fitted in 2003 ???
The unit still did not improve the inside air temperature. Some heat but not much.

He left telling me he would return on Sunday (tomorrow) to check the unit properly. But before he left I asked him if it could be the drier or expansion valve, he said they were not fitted to this machine ???? of course they are.

I left the machine running and left the building, the following morning the unit had shut down. No 1 LED lit no 2 not lit, indicating a pressure lock out what ever that is.

I switched the unit off at the mains and later started it up, I attachéd the manifold to the same place as the engineer and got the following readings.
Low side 34PSI high side 380PSi