PDA

View Full Version : Carrier Container-High Head Pressure

dag3xxx
02-12-2010, 03:40 PM
Hi All,
I work in Iraq as a civilian contractor and I've just recently been transfered to a new base where I inherated a new job; "Reefer Tech" and about 20 assorted reefers in various levels of disrepair. I've been doing HVAC all of my life but I'm new to container reefers. I've notice something rather troubling since I've been here, all of the Carrier 69NT40-444-8 and 464-1 units have there HPS disconnected! On further inspection most of the units are running a very high head pressure (250 300psi).
I've tried everything I can think of (cleaned the condenser, removed the charge and pulled a good vacume, removed, cleaned and inspected the TXV, SSV and Quench Valve) but I cant get the pressures under 225. The area where we keep these units is littered with old burnt out compressors, I'm really trying not to contribute to that collection! I'm starting to think that maybe theres in the condenser coils.....If anyone can give me any suggestions I'd greatly appreciate it, cause I'm drawing a blank right now.

cadwaladr
02-12-2010, 07:59 PM
take the coils out check the condition,if any doubt change it

Brian_UK
02-12-2010, 08:42 PM
Do the condensers have any 'sand' etc stuck in the hidden fins or that potential problem.

Maybe the coils aren't big enough for the ambient?

By the way, welcome to the forum and good luck with your new 'role'.

abbsnowman
03-12-2010, 12:32 AM
I don't do allot of "can" units but more truck and trailer but depending on ambient, is that really that un-common? (Pressures)
We see that kind of pressure all the time.

djbe
03-12-2010, 10:52 PM
Hi All,