PDA

View Full Version : Xarios 200

djbean
27-11-2010, 09:55 AM
Hi all. I'm very new to refrigeration engineering and am cutting my teeth on a faulty Xarios 200 (with standby compressor) system (R404a) fitted into a transit van.

The system will not run for more than a few moments without tripping out on a LP swith (error code A001).
The sight glass is showing 'wet' indicator.

I suspect icing of the expansion valve and applying a little heat does get it going again for a short while.

I decided to recover the refrigerant, vac, replace dryer and recharge. However I cannot seem to recover all the refrigerant.

I am unsure of the usual procedure for this kind of system but assumed it should be no different to usual. I connected the manifold gauges to the service ports and connected up to the reovery machine. I was only able to recover about 0.4 kg of the expected 1.4kg charge.

I am wondering if there is a blockage at the expansion valve that would prevent complete recovery from the LP side. Tracing the refrigeration circuit I see there are check valves between the HP service port and the condenser, so I am assuming that I cannot fully recover the charge through the HP service port.

Would anyone have any thoughts on my diagnosis so far and can anyone suggest how I can fully recover the charge?

Additionally I have the Xarios 150/250 operators manual which details a maintenance schedule. I feel it would be appropriate to replace the compressor oil but have no idea how I would do this. Does anyone know?

Thanks in advance for any help.

clivemtk
27-11-2010, 12:35 PM
take off condenser cover locate two soleniod valves valve with big coil is closing valve and has a red collar on it the smaller one being a hot gas valve remove it and fit a coil magnet and watch gas come back reply

djbean
27-11-2010, 01:04 PM