PDA

View Full Version : help with atlas copco dryer

paul441
18-11-2010, 08:40 PM
Hello guys
I am after some help if possible with a atlas copco dryer,i am fairly new in this game so go easy on me,anyway the dryer, first visit the problem was dryer tripping, so after checking system found comp very hot so thought it might be fault with comp winding, overload, anyway someone else visited job and left solinoid (hotbypass) off.so when i have gone back to job soliniod burnt out now and dryer wont even start now, where before it ran for while and tripped, i have to revisit this job anyone give me advice where to start. cheers :confused:

Brian_UK
18-11-2010, 08:44 PM
Hot compressors normally mean lack of suction cooling as a first point of call.

Fix the broken parts and do a good visual inspection for leaks.

If there is a data plate with the refrigerant charge details consider pulling the charge and weighing it prior to weighing in the correct amount. People in the past may have added or removed refrigerant.

monkey spanners
18-11-2010, 08:46 PM
What tripped when it tripped?
Did it reset by itself or did you have to do something?
Does anything run now, like the condenser fan?

paul441
18-11-2010, 09:07 PM
Thanks for reply, the dryer tripped and you could reset but now nothing works when reset ,fan , comp
cheers

Brian_UK
18-11-2010, 11:31 PM
Follow the control circuit to find what is holding it off.

Also, is the solenoid valve the correct one for the duty required?

glenn1340
19-11-2010, 08:55 PM
Hmmmm, if the solenoid has burnt out it may well have blown a fuse in the control cabinet. I`ve had this before and found that sometimes the problem.
Whats the model? I`ll try to dig out a schematic for it.

Brian`s spot about the running hot problem. Don`t leave it running to long after getting it started as the high temp will kill the pump.

Magoo
19-11-2010, 11:15 PM