PDA

View Full Version : Using Condesing unit and High load and temperature?

evcelica
15-10-2010, 04:22 PM
Hello everyone,

I am a mechanical engineer, so I am a little new to some of this commercial refrigeration stuff but have a problem even some experts can't figure out. But I'm trying to see if my theories are correct. I am using R404a units to cool liquid CO2 for a particle detector cooling system, and controlling them with a PLC.

My problem and what I think will fix it:
I have been asked to design a cooling system which could keep the CO2 (my load not my refrigerant) at temperatures from -40F to 60F. My 3 chilling units are designed to only work at temperatures below 0 F. If I need to hold my tank temperature at something above 0F I guess these units won't like the high temperature/pressure in the return suction line, and may cycle on and off? My thought is at high load temperatures: I have a CRO valve to keep the pressure down, as well as my TEV has an equilibrium line that will bypass the evaporator and mix cold liquid/gas in with the much too hot gas coming out of the evaporator. My question is, is this equilibrium line able to flow enough cold refrigerant to mix with the 'too hot' superheated gas from my condensor to drop the suction line temperature down to the maximum reccommended by the manufacturer or are they just too undersized? Will I need a discharge bypass valve or some other custom controlled solenoid valve system to keep the suction temperature down or will this TEV with the equilibrium line work?

Keep in mind I do not care if it is horribly inefficient whicle doing this, I just need it to work and hold temperature. I also have a liquid seperator on the suction line.
Any other suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks a lot in advance for sharing your knowledge with a refrigeration newbie.

Erik

monkey spanners
15-10-2010, 05:24 PM