PDA

View Full Version : degree minutes?

dfaz
05-10-2010, 11:36 PM
i'm a heating engineer by trade and we are getting more involved with heat pumps as demand grows.It doesnt matter how many training courses i go on there is no substitute for hands on,so I prefer to struggle on untill i know what and how things work.I,m struggling to get my head around degree minutes and how it affects the heat pump.The unit I have been dealing with is a Nibe air to water unit which would not come back on untill it saw -60 degree minutes it was adjusted to -200 in the controll unit,it now works ok.well the problem is solved but I dont understand why,can someone explain in plain english to someone who is a novice when it comes to heat pumps.Hope this makes sense to some of you technical bods.
Thanks in advance.

Dave.

mad fridgie
06-10-2010, 09:12 AM
No idea about Nibe, but lived in lancaster/morecambe. Talk to Jason from Absolute Cooling, he is in Heysham, nice guy.

mad fridgie
06-10-2010, 09:19 AM
Thanks Frank!!

frank
06-10-2010, 09:23 AM
You're welcome :D

nike123
06-10-2010, 09:56 AM
Internal equipment:

We haven't discussed hot water yet in any detail.

A heatpump usually runs at lower temperatures than conventional boilers. When heating hot water it needs to get a bit warmer, so the CoP lowers during this process. Some heatpumps use mains immersion heaters to top up hot water, which is fine in countries where hydro and nuclear generated electricity is cheap, renewable and plentiful. In the UK our electricity is none of these things.

Generally speaking, a heatstore is needed inside the property. This takes the form of a large water cylinder, which is a large buffer mass of heat.

What is the heatstore for?

Firstly, to keep up the 'degree minutes' of the heatpump. Secondly, to provide a means of supplying hot water.