PDA

View Full Version : Need Help- Calculating Net Cooling Capacity with R-22 Replacements

terrywilson
01-10-2010, 10:08 PM
I am a HVAC/R Instructor at a Technology School and we are testing R-22 "drop-in" replacement refrigerants which do not require an oil change.

We are attempting to determine net cooling capacity of a unit that we have been performing trials with using the following formula -

Net Cooling Capacity =
1.08 x CFM x Temp. rise (delta T) - Motor Heat in Btu/hr

CFM = Outdoor fan cfm
Delta T = temp rise or split of condenser
Motor Heat Btu =
Volts x Amps x 3.41 x power factor % (.95) = Btu

What I need help with is this -

One of the refrigerants in the test has a much lower delta T across condenser which I believe is due to having a much lower discharge temp. and discharge superheat. This lower delta T when used with the formula gives me a lower net cooling capacity than R-22 and the other test refrigerant, yet the temp drop across the evaporator coil is more than the other two. (The refrigerants were all tested over different days at almost identical indoor and outdoor conditions)

How do you compensate for the different delta T and discharge temps when calculating the net cooling ?

An additional note - this refrigerant had a higher subcooling also which I believe translates to the better temp. drop across evap. due to less flashgas loss to net cooling effect. Also does this while drawing less compressor amperage and running cooler than the others.

I have more numbers and info available if needed.

Thanks for any info and input in advance.

Terry

mad fridgie
02-10-2010, 12:51 AM
If I underatand you correctly
You have an existing system, fixed speed compressor, evap fan, cond fan.
Stable air (db, and wb) on to the cond and evap.