PDA

View Full Version : Need some advice on air-con here.

Fai
05-07-2005, 10:12 PM
Hi. I'm not an electronic engineer of any kind, but I just wanna know a few things.... Please help!

Yesterday I had my air-con checked and the air-con serviceman told me that my capacitor is spoilt and I've to change a new one, promising that my air-con would work right after he changes it, for $180(Singapore dollars). I know nothing about air-conditioning so I let him do it.

The air-con blew air after he changed the capacitor. Problem is, the air was not cold. He tells me that I've got fungus or something inside and it will require cleaning using special chemicals and etc which would cost me another SGD$80 per unit. I feel cheated!

How much does a Capacitor for an Daikin Air-conditioner cost? And do I really need to have them wash my aircon with chemicals for $80?

Please help me... Thank you.

Peter_1
05-07-2005, 10:20 PM
There is not such a thing as a 'capacitor for a Daikin'
A capacitor is a capacitor.
What value? Labour work to replace it?
Fungus is indeed possible aand can indeed only be cleaned with special chemicals. If you don' t do it, that's up to you.
But why isn't it blowing cold air after the cap replacement? Fungus has nothing to do with this.
Did you day this to the tech?

piston broke
05-07-2005, 10:35 PM
I agree, fungus or bacteria won't stop it cooling.

Capacitors don't cost much, about £10 maybe. Sounds like there is something wrong with the refrigeration circuit or control circuit to bring the compressor on. This may turn out to be expensive.

He should have checked it was fully fuctioning before leaving it. Was it cooling when he left? If it wasn't, why pay him?

I say get a second opinion and come back and tell us what they say before parting with too much more money.

PIST :D

Fai
05-07-2005, 10:46 PM