PDA

View Full Version : Design Help / Where to start?

Electric Rain
28-09-2010, 09:58 AM
NOTE: All links are tinyurls. So, go to tinyurl dot com slash, and then whatever I have in parentheses. Apparently, "You are only allowed to post URLs to other sites after you have made 15 posts or more." but I'm no spammer!!! >.<

Hey, new here. I was hoping you guys could help me with a design I'm working on.

Okay, I know what you're thinking. Another n00b asking for all the answers to design their system for free. I know. I've been on the other end of that, so I don't want it to seem like that's what I'm doing...

I'm primarily a computer engineer. So, electrical engineering plus computer programming, basically. HVAC is a little foreign to me, and even though I've been researching for months, I can't find all the answers by myself. Before I get into the project, let me state again that I'm not asking for someone to design a system for me. After all, I wouldn't really learn anything from that. I'm just asking for advice, tips, dos and don'ts, and how to get started. Don't get me wrong though, the more info you guys will give me, the easier it is for me. :P

Okay, here's the application. This is all going to be just part of a large automation project. I have air and water, heating and cooling needs.

Fifteen gallons of water will need to be kept heated or cooled to ~72 degrees F, +/- maybe 5 degrees, in this tank (2f3lqdh). Method of insulation, if any, is currently unknown. Open to suggestions, but overall budget is of primary concern.

This is an outdoor system that may be used anywhere in the USA. Ambient temperatures may theoretically vary from -10 degrees to 110 degrees, though the client is recommended to keep the unit as shielded as possible.