PDA

View Full Version : Anybody help with atlas copco dryers

paul441
22-09-2010, 07:06 PM
Hi guys
I am new to fridge game and have been in my current job for 2 months,its mainly working on atlas copco dryers but i must admit im finding it hard to understand and fix problems and was hoping someone could give me a bit of advice,for example i had a GA 160 compressor with integeral dryer ,it was showing 14 0c dewpoint and i know it should be about 3-5 anyway im not sure what to look at ,like what does hot bypass do also it had soleniod which was clicking ,and exspasion valve how do i know if this has gone, also understanding pressures.dont want to sound totally incompetent but just trying to keep hold of a job. cheers lads:confused:

Peter_1
22-09-2010, 07:24 PM
Coincidentally, I repaired today 2 dryers at the Belgium Navy.

Haven't they give you some sort of lessons at Atlas Copco?
In the 1st place, you must comply to the F-gas regulations which states that you must be certified before you may put a wrench on these units. That's the first thing you must try to get.

Bypass is to create an artificial load to the compressor so that TE stays above 0°C at partial load. Was the SV in the refrigerant circuit or outside the unit?

Detecting how a TEV has gone, if charge is correct and you SH isn't despites normal load, then probably your TEV is gone

These units need some basic education to work on, so I think you better follow first some lessons.

paul441
22-09-2010, 08:19 PM
Hi
I do have 2078 safe handling,but i only went on a 2 wk course to gain that andto be honest i didnt learn a great deal , i know i need 2079 before july 2011.also what do the sh sv te mean. cheers for the help
Sh: superheat
SV solenoid valve

glenn1340
22-09-2010, 08:34 PM
What`s the temperature of the air leaving the aftercooler? If its very high that will seriously affect the dew point. I don`t know how your`e