PDA

View Full Version : Making my own fridge, help

xander.p
16-09-2010, 12:07 PM
Hey everyone, basically im a student and for A level product design i was planning on building a fridge into a table so that it will have a cold draw to put drinks and such like.

What i want from you all is, how should i go about making this product?

Thanks xander.p

chemi-cool
16-09-2010, 04:03 PM
My humble opinion only.
Don't.
There are such fridges on the market, you can't get the technology to build one at home.

Brian_UK
16-09-2010, 08:34 PM
Considering that the drawer (note spelling) will be opened and closed the use of regular refrigeration products will be difficult unless you build something into the table itself and blow the cold air into the drawer.

What you might do is use a Peltier cooling device in the drawer which could move without too much trouble.

monkey spanners
16-09-2010, 08:46 PM
Make an ice block machine, make a drawer with a section for the ice blocks and a melt water drain.

Brian_UK
16-09-2010, 10:18 PM
:off topic: Sorry but thinking sideways here; oh not again - they mutter in the background.

This is a student trying to design and build a 'prototype' cooling device using refrigerant.

Is he legally allowed to under the F-Gas Regulations ?

Not having a go at you Xander.P, just interested.

xander.p
20-09-2010, 09:48 AM
Hey,sorry about any poor spelling and grammar.

My humble opinion only.
Don't.
There are such fridges on the market, you can't get the technology to build one at home.
Thanks for your reply,any chance you can link me to these products that are currently on the market. Obviously my knowledge of this market is poor and not as extensive as the people on this forum.

Considering that the drawer (note spelling) will be opened and closed the use of regular refrigeration products will be difficult unless you build something into the table itself and blow the cold air into the drawer.