PDA

View Full Version : dryers

paul441
15-09-2010, 08:34 PM
Hi
I am new to the fridge game and will be working on dryers, can you tell me how i understand what the pressures should be when i stick my gauges on suction and discharge ports. ie if i know theres enough gas in system.
cheers.:confused:

glenn1340
15-09-2010, 09:01 PM
Hi Paul,
Do you mean compressed air dryers? It all depends on what gas is in the system, most of the smaller ones are 134a and the larger 407c, and if it`s a thermal mass dryer. I`ll try to post the relevant pressures/temps tomorrow after I`ve checked my tech books as I don`t want to give incorrect ones off the top of my head.

paul441
15-09-2010, 09:26 PM
Hi Glen
yes it is compressed air dryers mainly 134a 407c and 404, thanks for your time and help.
cheers

glenn1340
16-09-2010, 07:06 PM
Hi Paul,
Here are the pressures I`d expect to see on typical `fridge dryers:
R134a low side approx 2.2 to 2.5 bar this would give a dew point of 2c to 6c and the high side around 10 to 12 bar, this being controlled by the fan pressure switch if the dryer has one. Otherwise it will be a constant run fan and the hight side will vary due to ambient conditions. These are usually the vary small dryers to suit 10kw compressors and below.

R407c:
Low side 3.8 to 4.6 bar to give the same dew point and 15 to 18 bar, once again controlled by the fan pressure switch.