PDA

View Full Version : Heater/cooler split system A/C electrical connections help pls!

JamesQB
22-06-2005, 12:19 AM
Hi everyone,

My parents bought a weird-named split-system air conditioner (indoor blower and outdoor compressor unit) and since they're not too wealthy at present, I offered to fit it (I'm an electronics engineer but with a fair general knowledge).

There's a Hitachi sticker inside, so maybe they really made it.

I've done all the pipework, blown out the air and pressurised the lot. Now ready to do the electrical connections. Other units here are cool air only with just live and neutral connections on the indoor and outdoor units for the interconnecting cable. This one's got four connection points in each unit.

The problem is that despite looking in the outdoor unit with covers completely off and having done voltage checks on the indoor unit whilst running in the the different modes, I cannot work out what should be happening and so cannot connect up the two separate units.

The indoor unit connector block has one constant neutral and three switched lives. On 'cold' setting, two lives appear. On 'heat' setting, the last live appears and the other two disappear. The permanent neutral has a blue wire in the block, and the lives have a brown, a pink, and a black. Brown and pink active on cold, only black active on heat (as far as I can tell).

Inside the outside unit, the four wires are marked A B C D (indoor unit has 1 2 3 4) in the connector block. The wire colours are red, blue and two black. One black is slightly thinner than the other wires.

Here's a diagram. Hollow rectangle-type thing going from cap to compressor is a white wire.

http://www.spiritworldcentral.com/images/other/conditioner.jpg