PDA

View Full Version : outdoor fan wrong rotation

jcastillo401
27-08-2010, 11:27 PM
Hello, i'm new in this trade, here is my trouble, I fixed an a/c split w/ gas heater, the compressor capacitors (run & star cap) both was wrong, I change with exact the same capacitors, I put every thing back. but the outdoor fan was rotating wrong direction, (this only have one direction), what did it happend, someone can help me, please....

Thanks

sedgy
28-08-2010, 12:23 PM
hi 401
is this motor single ph or 3 ph?
if its 3 ph , change over 2 wires onto different phases,
if its single ph, is the fan blade fitted the right way? is the motor fitted the right way? somemotors can be stripped down and fitted to suit the direction thats requiered, and some motors can be re-wiered internaly to change direction . hope this helps , sedgy

chemi-cool
28-08-2010, 12:41 PM
There are few ways to change the rotation direction in 1 phase motors:

You can change the rotor position in 180°.

You can change the wires between the "0" and one of the capacitor wires.

You can change the motor.

When in doubt, check the rotation direction prior to assembling.

Yuri B.
28-08-2010, 08:29 PM
Possibilities:
1. (Some possibility is) poster is so "new in this trade" that he takes the right direction to be wrong.
2. Sometimes air flow from fans on small splits may be so indistinct (especially with the wind in the face of the unit) that one may have the impression fan rotating wrong direction.
3. (Most probably) fan is dying - in this particular way - measuring current and looking how hot it is after a short while would confirm it (checking the capacitor also).
4. If there are 2 fans, that , bad one is not running at all and is just carried by the vacuum created by the running , good one.

paul_h
28-08-2010, 08:57 PM
Yes it is possible to change direction in some motors.