PDA

View Full Version : frost free's the death knell!!

billyfridge
19-06-2005, 10:43 AM
Do you think the days of independant domestic refrigeration engineers are finished???.....i do!!...the Frost free's and integrated's are killing the job.
frost free parts such as PCB's, defrost heaters, and some circulating fans, are difficult, if not impossible to get.
diagnosis is difficult and time consuming. when you do give an estimate the customer usually says they'd rather put the money towards a new unit, particularly if its going to take a few days to get the part.
have any of you been to your local tip lately? there you will find dozens of frost free fridges in showroom condition.....scrapped.
I've been a domestic engineer for about 30yrs,and brought 5 kids up. i've never made a lot of money, but i've always been able to make a ''buttie'' so to speak. I wouldn't make a living now. i retire next year, so it doesn't matter to me.

Andy W
19-06-2005, 04:26 PM
Some good points there, when I started up on my own in 1997 I repaired certain frost frees for which spares were available and you soon find out which ones to turn down on the phone. I no longer repair frost frees only because of the sheer amount of commercial refrigeration and air con service calls and installations that I now do, now I do make an excellent living out of the fridge game even though I am a one man band so to speak I turn over decent sums of money and have a good profit margin. Domestic calls to me are only pocket money jobs and only make up a tiny amount of my work as my intention from day one was to always go where the money was, commercial.

Abe
19-06-2005, 07:46 PM
I have hardly ever had a call for a domestic repair..

But if I did...........sorry.....

The idea of going into a private home, into the kitchen.. then theres the suspicious " house of horrors" scepticism.........from the housewife....