PDA

View Full Version : Help please with a Mitsubishi Daiya

steve_k
26-08-2010, 09:00 PM
hi, could do with a bit of help here,

I have recently moved a Mitsubishi daiya internal duct unit about 2 meters, I pumped down the unit and altered the ducting, I shortened the exhaust ducts by about 1.5m and extended the intake the same,

all worked well until the heat of the summer (I am in Spain) and as soon at it gets hot outside the unit cuts out with the code E42
I understand this to be incorrect current at the compressor (asked here)

before I started the work I run the unit to make sure it was working fine, the output from the ducts was very weak and it seamed inefficient, I checked the filter on the internal unit to find it was blocked almost solid, when removed the unit worked much more efficiently, the blocked filter removed any doubts I had about extending the intake ducts by 1.5M (no extra bends)

I am a plumber come AC installation wanabee:cool: but I know my limitations, and even though finding the code I knew this was beyond me,
So i contacted a local Mitsu engineer and arranged for him to come round, unfortunately on the aloted day we had a storm come in and the fault couldn't be reproduced,
after 3 hours he determined it was the fault of the installation, ignoring my comments on the blocked filter being a bigger restriction than any extra ducting, and to prove his point he cut 3 holes in the brand new ceiling and disconnected one of the intake valves, telling us it will be fine now, and that's 150€ for the pleasure

guess what its not fine and the problem still exists, I have been paid for my work on the villa (it was part of a much bigger job) but obviously if this is my fault I want to know,