PDA

View Full Version : Expansion

alesindo
10-06-2005, 07:03 AM
Dear Forum....

I am a newbie in refrigeration.

During the expansion the refrigerant come from the higher pressusre and temperature in condenser to the lower pressure and temperature in evaporator.

I want to know... which expansion is used to expanse the refrigerant form the condenser to the evaporator .... is it isotherm ? adiabatic(isentrope) ? Which one is ideal which one real ?

How is the calculation of the outlet temperature after expansion... if the inlet temperature and pressure is known... and the pressure after expansion is also known ?

with isenthalp ? dh=0=cp dT means dT=0 ????

or adiabatic with isentropic coefficient ? how do I get this coefficient ???

Sincerely,

Yen Sindo Boentoro

Vincent Yu
27-07-2005, 05:54 PM
It is reasonable to regard it as adiabatic. Enthopy is constant crossing the expansion valve. But temperature is not constant. The fluid cannot keep the same temperature at such a low pressure. So part of the fluid vaporizes until the temperature reaches to the saturation temperature at that pressure.

dh=0 is right. Since there exists phase changing, it does not equal to cp dT.

frank
27-07-2005, 08:23 PM
It is reasonable to regard it as adiabatic. Entropy is constant crossing the expansion valve. But temperature is not constant. The fluid cannot keep the same temperature at such a low pressure. So part of the fluid vaporizes until the temperature reaches to the saturation temperature at that pressure.

dh=0 is right. Since there exists phase changing, it does not equal to cp dT.

Hi Vincent

An Adiabatic process is one that does not involve the loss or gain of heat energy, therefore the the expansion of refrigerant is not Adiabatic.

Isothermal processes are processes where the temperature stays constant.

Isobaric processes are processes where the pressure stays constant..