PDA

View Full Version : Possible dangers in the work place?

jjvblack
25-07-2010, 11:08 PM
Hello to all of this forum, i am new here and have recently starting working for blue bird inc. i am patching ca rooms and testing them getting them ready for long term ca, i have been doing this for about 2 months now. some of the rooms are all concrete and others are wood. what concerns me is that some of the rooms have this flame retardant stuff on top of the insulation that is sprayed over the walls. most of our ca rooms are very very old and my question is. does this moon crater looking flame retardant stuff have asbestos? my boss just said no it doesnt and told me to go back to work. while i am the only white guy working on the patch crew and the others mexicans and 3 of which cant speak english. i am not so quick to believe. the rooms are old and he has only worked with the company for a few years. any help would be great. by the way the stuff we use to patch the flame retardant stuff with is called monokote and contains gypsum, i had to beg for particulit masks so the whole of us as a crew wouldnt get lung cancer. i dont like this guy and dont trust him and need anwsers. thanks

Brian_UK
25-07-2010, 11:25 PM
Contact your local Health Inspector or Union rep.

I know it is easy to say but "If you think that it is unsafe, leave, go elsewhere"

NH3LVR
25-07-2010, 11:49 PM
What you are using now for patching would be safe.
IF the base material is Monokote you might want to read this.