PDA

View Full Version : How to calculate gas top up (R22)

DannySwain
21-05-2005, 07:02 PM
I have bought a Fujitsu Air Conditioner (AOY17ANA outdoor unit and ASY17ASH indoor wall unit) which I have successfully install in our bedroom. The unit was pumped down and removed some years age by a professional engineer.
I have vaced it down and did a test run and it seams to work OK! but I don't know how much gas is in the unit. I have calculated that it needs 1390grams of R22, but how do I calculate how much extra to put in, is there an easy way to do this ie; from the temperature and pressure at the charging port? or is it more complicated that this? (I am sure it is!)
I am a heating engineer by trade, and want to venture into aircon soon but I want to get this sorded asap.
I was told the best way is to dump the gas and start from scratch, but I think that this method leaves much to be desired and I don't have a recovery unit. Any Help would be useful
Regards Danny

benijoseph
21-05-2005, 08:08 PM
Mr Danny,

When already unit is filled with Gas dont worry about

weight of the gas , check max AMPs unit can take ,then you

connect 2 guage one on suction side and one on di

scharge side , At 36c ambient suction guage must show

72 psi and discharge must be around 290 psi , it might

vary depending upon ambient and efficiency of the comp

ressor. hope this will solve your problem.

BENI JOSEPH.

chemi-cool
21-05-2005, 08:43 PM
At 36c ambient

Hi Beni,

You made me laugh :D
Danny lives in England, he might have to wait a few years to get such high ambient.

It would be easier to charge untill the suction line entering the compressor will start to sweat.

In minisplits you can have a bit less or more refrigerant with no problems.

Chemi :)

DannySwain
22-05-2005, 06:24 AM