PDA

View Full Version : first year requirements and expectations

Canucklehead
11-07-2010, 05:41 PM
Sorry, this will be a long question and I may have posted in the wrong forum...
I'm a student at a Canadian Community College doing a pre-apprenticeship training course, something that is becoming more neccesary ( at least up here in Canada ) as more and more outfits are excluding entry level personnel who don't have the foundation training. We cover the fundamentals, math skills and many of the workplace skills ( recovery, brazing etc )

The course is newly offered by the college and not fully 'fleshed' out in the curriculum, but was available 'NOW' instead of the 2 year wait to get into BCIT in Vancouver.
At the end of the course I will be sitting the first year apprenticeship exam,
the refrigerant recovery ticket and will apparently have work place applicable hours for the trade..

Our prof is a very good and knowledgeable tradesman, but not so confident as an instructor in a class room ( gets stressed/tongue tied, and doesn't finish/tie in topics and concepts to a base framework ):confused:

My question ( in as short a form as possible ) would be :
What concepts and skills are required/expected of a first year tech ?;
what is neccesary for the first year apprentice exam ?

Is there a web page out there that can summarize these details ?
I'm not sure how much the American and Canadian aspects of the trade differ, so a Canadian bent on the subject is what I need, but I'd be happy to read what is expected of our American cousins as well.

Cheers and thanks in advance for any insight.

monkey spanners
11-07-2010, 09:15 PM
Hi Canucklehead,

I don't know, i'm in the uk so haven't a clue as to what required in Canada.

I guess if i were looking for a apprentice i would like someone who admits when they don't know something, is not afraid to ask questions, has a passion for the job and isn't just looking for a wage.