PDA

View Full Version : International Move - Refrigerator - Take it or leave it

Flynn
01-07-2010, 01:53 PM
Hi, first post although I did read through the archive for information first before posting :)

So I currently live in Germany, been living here for 6 years or so and while I was here I bought a real nice side-by-side refrigerator. At that point, I really didn't plan on moving back to the states this soon but you all know how things tend to happen, and well, in a couple of months I will be headed back.

So back on topic, I have this refrigerator, I have space in my container, and I was thinking about bringing it with me. Being by trade, an electrician, I know I can run a new line for the refrigerator to get my 230V (115 x2). I measured the continuity between the ground and the neutral wire to make sure they weren't connected and I didn't blow anything up as soon as I plugged this thing in and that's ok also.

So now I have the right voltage to the fridge, but now I have the question, and the reason for my post, is with the frequency. 50Hz in Germany, 60Hz in the states. The compressor (and any fans, ice machine motor, etc..) would then run faster, right? Would the refrigerator handle the change or should I forget the idea all together?

If it helps, here is the circuit diagram:

Thanks!

multisync
01-07-2010, 04:25 PM
Hi, first post although I did read through the archive for information first before posting :)

So I currently live in Germany, been living here for 6 years or so and while I was here I bought a real nice side-by-side refrigerator. At that point, I really didn't plan on moving back to the states this soon but you all know how things tend to happen, and well, in a couple of months I will be headed back.