PDA

View Full Version : Please help - Legal case pending

coffeeandice
29-06-2010, 11:15 AM
Hi all. I am new to this website but thought I would ask the experts their advice.

I am not an engineer but own a shopfitting company that deal with mainly ice cream parlours. We use excellent sub-contractors who generally know their stuff. We supplied a ventilated ice cream display to a customer who did not have any problems for months after delivery.

5 months after delivery, the customer had some problems which were due to not defrosting not cleaning the condenser. We sorted these problems out but he kept on calling us out with nothing wrong with his display 9we checked all temperatures and found the cabinet was working correctly).

Now the customer is trying to take us to court saying the cabinet is not fit for purpose and they got another engineer to change the evaporator as a TEMPORARY repair 8 months after delivery.

Please help me with the following:
1. Can changing the evaporator be considered temporary?

2. They say evaporator was damaged on delivery. If so we believe the gas would have leaked more quickly than 8 months. Is this correct?

3. Could the cabinet have held temperature for many months after delivery if there was a crack in the evaporator?

4. The cabinet is working still to date nearly s year on but the customer says it is not fir for purpose.

Obviously we know many people in the industry that all say the same but I would like to know your genuine thoughts. we try to give good service to the customers but this is obviously difficult with this customer.

Please help. Thanks in advance

Tesla
29-06-2010, 01:50 PM
Hi coffeeandice (http://www.refrigeration-engineer.com/forums/member.php?u=45503)