PDA

View Full Version : Auxillary Contactor

kevinfitz06
11-06-2010, 04:03 AM
Im just getting into the refrigeration field, I am getting exposed to supermarket refrigeration mainly. So that means I will be working on rack systems. I got a chance to look at a control panel and was simply amazed. One question that has been bugging me is what the function of an auxillary contactor is? Basically there were three breakers for each of the compressors, but there were four contactors, and i was told thats an auxillary contactor... I didnt get a chance to ask why it is used. All what was told to me dont have both of them engerized. Can anybody help me out?

Magoo
11-06-2010, 06:01 AM
Try a career change to something that you understand and are comfortable with.

Brian_UK
11-06-2010, 11:46 PM
Perhaps it is relating to the motor starter.

Depending on size the start method changes, try looking at start/delta or part wind starting systems.

vadivelan
12-06-2010, 12:13 PM
Hi Kevin welcome to the site. The term auxillary contactor normally used when the cotactor is used in the control circuit for performing a logical operation rather than used as normal power contactor.

Peter_1
13-06-2010, 09:17 AM
Try a career change to something that you understand and are comfortable with.

Magoo, this is what this forum was made for, asking questions. easy and difficult ones, clever and stupids, long and short questions. But every question is a hunger to information and help.

monkey spanners
13-06-2010, 10:11 AM