PDA

View Full Version : Preliminary design of Fin tube evaporator

teikseng
10-06-2010, 09:31 AM
Hi, I'm very new in refrigeration industry. Just started learning everything about refrigeration since 1.5 months ago. I had picked up some knowledge in sizing the compressor and estimate refrigeration capacity. Currently i am going into designing a fin coil evaporator for my system. I'm trying to search through the website and some literatures that i have, however i still can't find a practical way of step-by-step to design an evaporator.

Here are the detail steps/flow that i concluded. Hopefully any expert can give me your inputs/comments:-
1. Identify process condition.- Air flow rate, Air in Temp, Air out Temp, pressure.

2. Identify type of refrigerant. E.g. R134a

3. Calculate cooling capacity:- Q = m [(h1-h2)-(W1-W2)hw2], m = air flow rate, hw2 = enthalpy of wet air at outlet
- h1, h2, W1, W2 , hw2 are taken from Psychometric chart for air at Patm.

4. Determine evaporator type -> fin tube evaporator, outline dimension and flow arrangement (parallel, counter, cross, mix)
- Fin tube is commonly used for cooling down air temperature. Similar to the one using in most of the car cooling coil.

5. Determine fins spacing -> max. 6 fins/inch for evaporator <0degC. And also determine size and # of pipe. Diameter of pipe based on type of refrigerant, cooling capacity and evaporator temperature.
- To prevent frosting, I’m going to start with minimum fins/inch.

6. Identify if it is compact heat exchanger -> Calculate total cooling surface/evaporator volume, m2/m3. If >700, it’s compact heat exchanger.
- If this is a compact heat exchanger, There will be a pressure drop .

7. Calculate LMTD -> LMTD = [(Th2 – Tc1)-(Th1-Tc2)]/ ln[(Th2-Tc1)/(Th1-Tc2)]
- Log mean temperature different (LMTD) calculation. Assuming Th is for air temperature and Tc is refrigerant temperature. Assuming there is no temperature change in refrigerant, therefore Tc1 = Tc2.