PDA

View Full Version : super heat calculations

tezzthefridgey
18-05-2010, 12:13 PM
hi all i am a fridgey in tasmania, australia i am new to re and i am new to supermarket refrigeration, can some one please explain super heat fundamentals and calculations it has been a while since i have used them frequently and id like to make sure i am still checking and adjusting my case superheats correctly,for optimum performance
cheers tezz:)

taz24
18-05-2010, 12:47 PM
hi all i am a fridgey in tasmania, australia i am new to re and i am new to supermarket refrigeration, can some one please explain super heat fundamentals and calculations it has been a while since i have used them frequently and id like to make sure i am still checking and adjusting my case superheats correctly,for optimum performance
cheers tezz:)
Superheat is the added heat to the vapour above the saturated temperature / boiling point at a set pressure.

So if you were measuring superheat out of the evap then you need to know the tempreature the refrigerant is boiling at / evaporating at and you can only know that by using your gauges.
Then you compare the gauge temp with the actual measured temp using a thermomiter at the point where the refrigerant leaves the evap.

The differance between the two is superheat.

It should be about 6 to 8 difference (maybe as high as 10 and as low as 4)

taz

Magoo
19-05-2010, 04:05 AM
Here we all go again.
Do a search on superheat
Taz 24, beleive me there are no rule of thumbs. Every system has to be treated individually, to take into account the engineer that designed the system. So relevent to super markets refrigeration racks and partial pressure situations.

dirk
21-05-2010, 03:31 AM
If you have correctly selected the expansion valve and orofice you should never need to set superheat a valve does not loose its superheat setting . The only time you should be changing the superheat is when some genius has fiddled with the settings.